Pennsylvania banned texting while driving two years ago, but since then has issued very few tickets for the offense. Why?
At issue, The Philadelphia Inquirer reports, is the fact that handheld phone use is not illegal. And it's nearly impossible for a police officer to tell whether a driver is sending a text (illegal) or dialing a phone number (allowed).
Since the law took affect in March 2012, 2,342 citations for the offense have been issued statewide, the Inquirer said.
Montgomery County has issued the most citations, with 253, and Allegheny County came in close second, with 251, according to data from the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts provided to the Inquirer.
A ticket for texting while driving will set you back $50, plus $102.50 in court costs.